Christmas Trees and Snowballs Quilt

I haven’t posted any quilts lately, so I thought I would show you one that I finished recently. My customer Liz created the top by combining two patterns from Natalia Bonner’s blog/website (piecenquilt). Liz always does wonderful work and it’s a pleasure to work on her tops. She suggested wind or clouds in the blue,  a feeling of snow drifts in the white, and perhaps snowflakes in the snowball blocks. The picture below doesn’t show all of the quilt, I think there were actually five rows of blocks below the tree panel.

1363

I did freehand work for the sky and the snow.

1368

The sashing work was also handguided, using a ruler for the straight lines. Time consuming, with lots of stops and starts, but I really like how it looks. And yes, the four white ‘points’ were all hand appliqued!

1370

My IntelliQuilter stitched out the snowflakes in the snowball blocks. I alternated between 8 different snowflake designs. Here are just two of them:

1374

1373

What a fun quilt for Liz to have on her bed for the winter!  I hope this is the ONLY kind of snow I have to endure this winter 😉

Leave a Reply

