Memorex in the Round

I was not going to do a custom quilt using IQ until after the holidays……no time to figure it out……I knew in the beginning it would take longer………I should just keep pumping out those overalls…….uh, huh…..I have no willpower 😉

This top was a perfect candidate for Memorexing (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, go here.)

dscn1265

It’s a very cool lone star/mariner’s compass done on QuiltSmart foundations. My customer wanted to make it round and had marked the outer edge for me. Now it was up to me to decide how to quilt it.

You may be able to see some light lines on the green background areas. When I’m auditioning designs, I often use white school chalk. It allows me to play, but brushes off easily if I want to try something else. I decided to create some triangle shapes with straight lines, and fill those areas in with feathers. 

IQ can stitch straight lines easily for you, you just move your machine to the beginning and ending points of the line, ‘clicking’ at each endpoint, then press ‘go’ and voila, a beautiful straight line. Then, I wanted my feather motifs to be symmetrical. So, I turned on the record feature, and stitched half of my design. Then I was able to copy it, flip it, take out a few ‘blips’, and connect it to the first half. Now when I needed to repeat that motif eleventy-gazillion times, I showed IQ the boundary of the triangle, and it stitched the design over and over for me – with all of my handguided imperfections that were in the first motif! Here is the first one I handguided:

dscn1266

I also created a second motif for the triangles that were going the other way around the circle:

dscn1288

The whole thing:

dscn12852

And some shots of the center, which was handguided. I figured IQ deserved a rest after all the work it did for me in the borders!

dscn1287

dscn1289

I did do an overall after this. I had another lone star and we decided on baptist fans.

dscn1337

Baptist fans isn’t the easiest overall to do – in order to get it to overlap correctly, I really needed to monitor it the whole time it was stitching. But overall I was very pleased with how it came out. And the customer seemed to really like it too, which is really what matters, isn’t it???

5 Responses

  1. Great job on the medallion!

  2. Bravo, Andi! It’s beautiful!

  3. Wonderful! You sure did great with your recording, flipping and gazillion-setting ins!!

  4. Wow, absolutely gorgeous, you did a great job on both of them.

  5. Hey Andi! Has your IQ swallowed you up? I love what you did with this quilt. I hope all is well with you and you will be posting more photos of your work and telling us about your days soon. I’ve been off-circuit for a bit myself and am just getting back in the swing of things.

Leave a Reply

